Accueil

Passion and competence at your service

Competence is nothing without passion.

In a manner of speaking this summarises Olivier Liégeois' career since taking his first steps in competition. It was back in 1978 and motorcycling was already the talk of the day. One by one he climbed the rungs, going from national races through to World Championship Grand Prix races, with undoubted success as proven by his numerous podium places at a world level. When in 1988 Olivier swaps his helmet and racing overalls for a team manager's hat, the passion is intact but the experience increases tenfold. He puts all this expertise at the service of numerous drivers, of which some materialise in the best possible manner their mentor's craving to unceasingly evolve.

The initial triumphs appear in 1998 with Masao Azuma in 125cc after lengthy development work for the account of the manufacturer Bridgestone, who had put their trust in our compatriot. In 1999 Liégeois Compétition miss out on the title by a hair's breadth when a young unknown coming driver, Marco Melandri, and his team mate Azuma respectively finish second and third in the world hierarchy, with a highly impressive score of 10 victories and 14 podium places out of 16 Grand Prix. Notwithstanding the fact that they to battle against the works teams, with their almost limitless budgets.

At the same time Liégeois Compétition associate themselves with the go-kart driver Philippe Decuypère, a leading light in the ICC category in Belgium. With the support of his new team, the kart driver passes a major turning point and even ends up within the top-10 of the European championship.

Committed on two fronts, the Olivier Liégeois team continues to evolve. On the one hand, Derbi has called on the sorcerer from Fexhe to head up its Grand Prix team, and on the other the engineer Pavesi and the manufacturer Merlin join together the karting department with DDK. It is at this same moment that Philippe Decuypère opens an outlet.

Liégeois Compétition provides its savoir-faire to numerous drivers in both disciplines, designs, develops and fine tunes high performance parts to meet the specific needs of one and all: cylinders, pistons, crankshafts, cylinder heads, sumps, carburettors, gearboxes and even chassis. The entire team's leitmotif is the on-going search for perfection. However the latter is only achievable if one links passion with competence. … the «in-house » philosophy.

Text: J.P. HARDY

Accueil

Passion et compétence à votre service.

La compétence n'est rien sans la passion.

Voici, sans doute, ce qui résume la carrière d'Olivier Liégeois depuis les premières secondes de ses débuts en compétition. C'était en 1978 et l'on parlait déjà de motocyclisme. Un à un il gravit les échelons qui vont des courses nationales aux grands prix du championnat du monde avec un succès certain comme le prouvent ses nombreuses places d'honneur au niveau planétaire. Quand en 1988 Olivier raccroche la combinaison de pilote pour coiffer la casquette de team-manager, la passion est intacte mais l'expérience est décuplée. Il va mettre toute cette compétence au service de nombreux pilotes dont certains concrétiseront de la plus belle façon qui soit la soif de sans cesse évoluer de leur mentor.

Les premiers succès viendront en 1998 avec Masao Azuma en 125cc après un long travail de développement pour le compte du manufacturier Bridgestone qui avait fait confiance à notre compatriote. Le titre 1999 échappera de très peu à Liégeois Compétition quand un jeune espoir inconnu, Marco Mélandri, et son équipier Azuma terminent respectivement second et troisième de la hiérarchie mondiale avec un score impressionnant de 10 victoires et 14 podiums sur 16 grand prix. Le tout face aux usines et à leurs budgets presque sans limite.

Parallèlement, Liégeois Compétition s'attache les services du pilote de karting, Philippe Decuypère, l'un des cadors de la catégorie ICC en Belgique. Avec l'appoint de sa nouvelle équipe, le kartman franchit un cap qui lui vaudra même de terminer dans le top 10 du championnat d'Europe.

Engagée sur deux fronts, l'équipe d'Olivier Liégeois continue à évoluer. D'une part, Derbi fait appel au sorcier de Fexhe pour chapeauter son équipe de Grand Prix et, d'autre part, le motoriste Pavési et le constructeur Merlin s'associent à DDK le département karting. C'est au même moment que Philippe Decuypère ouvre un point de vente.

Liégeois Compétition apporte son savoir-faire à de nombreux pilotes dans les deux disciplines, conçoit, développe et met au point des pièces performantes pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques de chacun : cylindres, pistons, vilebrequins, culasses, carters, carburateurs, boîtes de vitesses et même des châssis. La recherche de la perfection est le leitmotiv de toute l'équipe. Celle-là ne peut être atteinte que si l'on allie la passion à la compétence… la philosophie « maison »

Texte : J.P. HARDY